10 Things to do in London

This post has been a long time coming, but I just haven’t really had the chance to put my heart into writing it. Maybe it’s because London was too big a city and I was altogether overwhelmed by topics and amount of pictures I have. After having selected some pictures and narrowing down a few topics, it’s finally here. So guys, let’s talk London !

St. Paul
Millennium Bridge

Before we start, let’s enjoy a nice picture of the St. Paul Cathedral taken from the Millennium Bridge. What a lovely view ! I was a fan of this shot from even before I arrived in London, I would spend my days googling images of St. Paul Cathedral ! What I love so much about this picture is, you have this historic building at the end, but the path leading to it is nothing short of modern.

So this post is not really a “Top 10 list of what you should do in London”, but more of a “10 things you can do in London” kind of blogpost. Bear with me guys, London is a bit overwhelming and I can speak endlessly about it. One post simply shan’t do ! We’ll get back to St. Paul shortly.

1. Borough Market

Borough MarketBorough Market 1Borough Market 2WhatsApp Image 2017-04-21 at 8.20.40 PMWhatsApp Image 2017-04-21 at 8.20.49 PMWhatsApp Image 2017-05-17 at 8.04.19 PM

Let’s start the list with fueling up for our great London adventure. There is no place like the Borough Market to have some awesome breakfast ! I love visiting markets, especially to eat ! We arrived a bit early (at 09:30 a.m.), just as they were opening so most food stalls weren’t ready. We started with some fresh seafood since they were all prepared. Shortly after, I had some fresh milk for one quid and we had some pulled pork sandwich.

I won’t go into details about the food here, what I can recommend is for you to arrive early at 10 a.m. I’d say it’s better to wait for the stalls to open up than coming at lunchtime which by then it will be jam-packed ! I know this because the day after we were passing the market and it was super difficult to get around. I’d imagine eating anything on the spot would be a nightmare.

2. The Shard

The ShardIMG-20170716-WA0014-02Shard Open AirIMG_20170421_225452-01IMG_20170421_153329IMG_20170421_150906

So here I was at the View from the Shard. It’s super costly to visit the Shard, so some of you might want to consider whether it is worth it, it costed around £30 for one person since we just showed up without a reservation online. It can be much cheaper if you do book online, just that it’s sort of inconvenient as you have to commit to that hour of day.

In my opinion, it was an awesome experience ! I really loved the views and the building itself, I love how there is an open space where you can feel the cold breeze. I wanted to get some nice shots of London’s skyline and was torn between the Shard or the London Eye. But since I was passing the Shard, I decided to give it a go.

3. The Tower Bridge – Walk along River Thames

DCIM100GOPROGOPR3635.London BridgeDSC05431-01DCIM100GOPROGOPR3643.This one is super obvious, but you have to visit the Tower Bridge. Perfect for pictures !

I must also suggest to take a stroll from the tower bridge to the Millennium bridge, it is quite a walk but a rather pleasant one as you stroll along River Thames. There are many things to see along the way. Many small shops and cafes where you can stop by. Check out the Shakespeare Globe not too far from the Millennium bridge !

Shakespear GlobeParkCityscape

There is also a small park where you can stop for some ice-cream, sit and enjoy London’s city from a lower vantage point, unlike the Shard. But it is definitely nothing short of charming.

4. St. Paul’s Cathedral

One New Change20170422_163341-0120170422_161740-01

Back to St. Paul’s ! Here’s just my brief opinion since I opened with the awesome bridge and historic building, another reason why I love St. Paul’s Cathedral is because of how photogenic it is ! It makes bridges, alleyways and rooftops look so much more interesting and as an amateur photographer, taking pictures of this building was on top of my list ! The first two pictures were taken from One New Change, a small shopping compound.

5. Emirates Stadium (Any Football Stadium)

GunnersGunners 1Gunners 2

When in London be sure to visit a football stadium. Not necessarily the Emirates stadium but you can also go to any of your favourite clubs like Chelsea or Tottenham Hotspur. I’m not much of a footy fan, but you can’t really miss visiting a stadium or perhaps watching a match. During this trip we didn’t watch any match since we already caught one in Barcelona.

6. Window shopping – Regent St. & Harrods

Regent StHarrods

I’m not a shopaholic, but many people come to London to shop for branded goods. Although shopping at these two places can be quite (more) pricey, go for the atmosphere and just simply window shop.

I personally am in love with Harrods, not because of the brands but because of the luxurious feel inside Harrods and the gourmet grocery section at its lowest floor. Inside Harrods some sections are themed as well and it’s just a fun, nice place to visit.

7. King’s Cross Station – Platform 9 3/4

kings crossKings CrossKings Cross 1Harry Potter shop

Calling all Harry Potter fans ! Be sure to give this infamous photo spot a visit ! There is quite a queue, but it goes quite fast and is worth the wait especially if you are a fan, and the best part is that it’s free to take pictures and use props ! You can purchase a printed one, but you are more than welcome to use your own phone or camera. There is also a souvenir shop just beside it !

8. The Tube

Tube 1Tube 2Tube

This one might sound a bit odd, but ride the London Tube ! I was so fascinated by the Tube. Okay forgive me for being lame, but their cute trains are unlike any other. Bullet trains and mass-rapid trains are awesome, but nowhere near as fascinating as these ! Just look at the picture, it literally is a tube ! LOL okay, I’m going to stop now, but it was definitely one of the highlights of the trip.

9. Theatres

Matilda 2MatildaHarry PotterPhantom

If you’re in London, be sure to catch a musical or play. Just like in New York, London is famous for watching the theatre. I myself went to watch Matilda and it was great, I’ve watched the movie before but never live. Some other options are Wicked, Phantom of the Opera, Aladdin, and many more that I can’t name. There are heaps of theatres everywhere. The tubes and streets were filled with posters that it amazes me. I’ve studied in Melbourne and love going to plays, but London is unlike any other (perhaps similar to New York). I grew up listening to and watching plays (mostly ones composed by Andrew Lloyd Webber) so roaming through the streets was like a fairy-tale. Please do catch a show if you are in London, they aren’t exactly cheap, but it’s an experience unlike any other !

10. Piccadilly Circus

DSC_4165-01IMG_20170419_062533

We’ve reached our number ten on the list, so here it is, the Piccadilly Circus ! Check out our plane-faces, we went straight to Piccadilly after having checked-in our Airbnb at around 9 p.m. and the place was still crowded with people, I find it amusing. Chinatown is also just around the corner, so finding food for late night eats in this area is fantastic. I suggest coming here because, it is like the time-square of London. I haven’t been to NYC, and can’t be too sure, but I’d like to think so.

Okay, so if you’ve read this post, you might want to hate on me, where’s Ben, or Buckingham Palace, or the parks and the castles and that red double-decker bus ?? Like I previously said, London is a lot to handle and I will cover the rest on the next London post (fingers-crossed). So be sure to stay tuned !

Thanks for having a read on this travel post, hope it was insightful for those visiting London soon !

 

6 thoughts on “10 Things to do in London

  1. Last time I was in London was about 20 years ago. Cannot believe it’s been that long. I need to make a trip back there, and I with this list you have listed some things that I had not done yet. So it will come in handy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wauw you got some incredible pictures!! Such a good blog! I’ve been to London three times and every time wasn’t sure what to do so just went to the British Museum and the main highlights. This is very useful for my next visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a fabulous post! Very different to your usual Top 10 in London post. I live in London and I think you picked some great options! But, shamefully, I still haven’t been to Platform 9 3/4! 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

